About Us

Ormskirk & District Explorers is the 14-18 year old Scouting provision within our district.  We consists of seven ‘units’ that meet weekly in location throughout the district.  Within the section we have around 100 Young People.

We also have Young Leaders which are Explorers (14-18 year old Scouts) that volunteer within the any of the 21 groups (Beavers, Cubs and Scouts) within our district.  The Explorer section provide these Young Leaders with training and support, we also provide opportunities for Young Leaders to partake in the annual district programme, if they wish.  For more information on Young Leaders please click on the above ‘Young Leaders’ tab.

Each of the Explorer Scout Units (ESU) below are ran by a Explorer Scout Leader (ESL) and usually at least one Assistant Explorer Scout Leader (AESL).

You can find out more by reading our Explorer Welcome Pack

If you are interested in joining one of your Explorer Scout Units as a young person or adult volunteer please do not hesitate to contact desa@ormskirkscouts.org.uk

Unit Meeting Times and Locations: 

Unit Meeting Time Meeting Location Contact
Barnabees Monday  19:45 – 21.00 17th Scout Hut, at Park Children’s Centre,Barnes Road, Skelmersdale, WN8 8HN barnabees@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Bubble Factor Friday 19.00 – 20.30 1st Ormskirk HQ, Wigan Road, Ormskirk, L39 2AP bubblefactor@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Eclipse Wednesday 19.30 – 21.00 Hut on the Hill, Parbold Hill, WN8 7TD eclipse@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Equinox Monday 19.45 – 21.30 Behind St John’s Church Hall, School Lane, Burscough, L40 4AE equinox@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Ferrets Monday 19.30 – 21.00 Halsall Parish Centre (School Hall), New Street, Halsall, L39 8RR ferrets@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Nomads Wednesday 19:45—21.30 Scout Hut, Christ Church, Long Lane,    Aughton, L39 5AS nomads@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Yeti Thursday 19:30 – 21:30 Scout Hut, Gorse Lane, Tarleton, PR4 6UJ yeti@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Vanguard Wednesday 19:45 — 21:15 St Anne’s Parish Centre, Ormskirk, L39 4TG vanguard@ormskirkscouts.org.uk
Young Leaders Meetings arranged intermittently, in line with training and events. ylu@ormskirkscouts.org.uk